Artists of the week: Guy Tang & Kat Von D (Week 9)

I found this weeks artists to be really unique and interesting. Before researching these artists, I thought that photography, drawing, painting, and sculpting were the main art types. I was shocked to learn that the body and hair can be used as an art medium.

-zgkoDnk

Guy Tang began his fame on his YouTube channel and then he became very famous for his work with hair. He is a very successful hairstyles who many people dream of meeting. Its very difficult to even get an appointment with him.

His work is not only well known but also very unique. I love how he is able to play with the hair and sculpt it anyway he wants. The color schemes he uses are often bright and they stand out.  I never really thought that hair styling can be an art. I used to believe that hair cuts were more of a necessity but after seeing Tang’s work I was clearly wrong.

The second artist is Kat Von D. When I was younger I used to watch her show, Miami Ink. I used to have the biggest crush on her (I still do). She is a very talented tattoo artist and she accomplished a lot at a young age.  Personally, I think tattoos are confusing. It depends on what type you get for me to consider it to be art. For example I think that tattoos that are gang affiliated do not count as art.  I know that many people see tattoos as a bad thing. Back in the day mostly criminals had tattoos, now almost everyone has them.  Kat Von D has a lot of ink herself, and it looks good on her. Her work shows how determined and talented she is.

index.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

