Activity week 4 : sketching

This week’s activity was really fun and interesting. We had to make sketches and take photographs. Three  of the sketches and photographs  had to be abstract and the other three had to be representational. Not having any prior experience in sketching , this activity was a little bit of a challenge.
I chose to sketch at the Japanese Garden on campus at CSULB. I chose this place because it’s very peaceful and has many things to sketch.

When I was sketching I tried to look more at the object I was sketching than looking down at my paper. This was kinda tricky and I had to keep myself from looking down. I knew if I looked at my paper I would be judgemental and would start erasing it.
For the representational sketches and photographs , I used a bridge , a tree , and a pond .

image

image

image

image

image

image

For the abstract sketches I left out certain parts of the figure. I liked doing the abstract part more than representational because it didn’t have to be perfect . I’m not very good at drawing so most of my representational sketches ended up looking abstract.
.

image

image

image

Lastly , the tricky part was the abstract photographs. I never thought, that a photograph could be abstract. So the first picture I took was off a glass mug, I zoomed in on the flower pattern.

image

The second abstract photo was of a tree. I zoomed in on the top of the tree and I moved the camera a bit to give it a fuzzy look .

image

The last abstract photo was of a rock that I added a filter to after the picture was taken .

image

Overall this activity was very interesting, it was another activity where I learned something new. My favorite part was being able to explore my drawing techniques. I liked the process of looking at the object more than the paper . It made me more aware of my surroundings. I ended up with a new interest in photography.

Leave a Reply

