Automatic Drawing, (Activity week 2)

This week, the activity was “automatic drawing”. The point of this activity was to allow the pencil to flow freely and “automatically ” draw. The process was simple, get a partner and hold the pencil with each hand alternating. My girlfriend Destiny was my partner for this activity. The first thing we did was gather all the supplies that we needed. We got a poster size paper, a thick white board, and a pencil. I tapped the paper to the board so it would be easier to draw and more stable. Then we sat on the floor with our legs crossed, and knees touching.  We held the pencil with our thumb, index finger, and middle finger.

Next, I played one of my favorite songs and we began the activity. We closed our eyes and sat there feeling really awkward and silly. At first nothing happened except jokes and laughter. After a few more minutes the pencil began to move and Destiny kept asking me “are you moving it on purpose?” But I wasn’t it was happening “automatically”. We sat there for almost ten minutes before our hands gave out and we were in pain.So we both decided to open our eyes and see what we had created. We reacted with laughter, as we saw the random scribbles on the paper. It didn’t look like much but I was surprised to how much the pencil moved all over the paper.

Snapchat-6068745710289796509
“automatic drawing” before enhancement

We then began to enhance the drawing and added random objects to it. At first, we tried to make things out of the lines. We created a turtle, a man with shirt and pants, then a rose that looks like it is smoking, and a Scream mask. When I looked at the work it looked like work a little kid  has done. It seems that our imagination went a little too wild. The drawing was filled with crazy cartoon drawings and random swirls. Later, I colored it in various colors to make it stand out.

Snapchat-8592558702867072912Snapchat-5340829907854325197

Snapchat-7845040708699594140
Completed Version

Overall, I was really happy with this activity. I realized that art is a story. As cliche as that sounds, it is true. This activity was a great way for me any my girlfriend to bond and enjoy together. Now every time I look at it, it reminds me of the time we worked on it. It was really fun to work on and I felt like a real artist. I noticed that I like art that is random and out of place. Everything in this drawing is really random and silly. I guess it’s due to the fact that I am still a little kid deep inside.

Leave a Reply

